Cigarette lighter wouldn’t charge my phone

image

The plug my phone charger into my old vehicles cigarette lighter plug and it wouldn’t charge. I thought there was something wrong with the cigarette lighter plug but there wasn’t. You see the vehicle was made before the year 2002 and in 2002 all cigarette lighter plugs had the entire sheath of the lighter as its negative ground. Before 2002 though the cigarette lighter plug had this little clip in the back as its negative ground. The negative ground part of my phone charger plug is in the middle and will never reach that little tiny clip in the back so it wouldn’t charge. Fortunately mine was a Dodge and I simply went to a parts store and bought the one with the green plastic the newer model. So so if your cigarette lighter plug doesn’t work to charge your phone then it’s probably made before 2002 and who smokes anymore anyway.

